Guest Post – Keep a Journal, Develop Business Ideas by Chris Sorbe

I’d like to review the previous year before charging headlong into 2009. While many entrepreneurs got a crash course in finance (courtesy of the University of Hard Knocks) I learned an important lesson that had nothing to do with dollars and cents.

Entrepreneur’s Journal

At the suggestion of a friend, I started an “entrepreneur’s journal” this year in which I record business ideas. These may be some of my own original ideas or improvements that I would make to other businesses. There are notes, sketches, flow charts, and even a few rough calculations.

In my journal there are ideas on everything from lemonade stands (seriously) to large-scale power production projects and everything in between. While most of these ideas will be nothing more than sketches on paper, my journal gives me a place to store and record my thoughts on potential business ideas and innovations.

I really learned the value of this practice a few days ago. I was standing at the sink, washing dishes and mulling over a few ideas that I have in my journal when the proverbial lightning struck me hard. It came to me that I could take several ideas (from my journal) and roll them into one business. But when that ah-ha moment hit, the ideas flowed and a complete picture came to my mind of how to bring these separate ideas together.

There are no follow up stories of how I sold that company or idea for millions of dollars.  Lightening struck only a mere five days ago. But it wouldn’t have coalesced had I not taken the time to record my ideas over the past year.

Write it Down!

So if you’re looking for an entrepreneurial resolution, try keeping a journal of your business ideas and endeavors. Pick up a sketch book and take a little time each week, or even when inspiration strikes, to record your ideas. Because if you’re an entrepreneur then you’re ideas are probably world changing and definitely worth writing down.

Leave a Reply

